Navratri Festival

Shubh Navratri
Navratri Festival

Shardiya Navratri 2019 : The festival of Navratri is primarily dedicated to goddess Durga who is worshipped in nine forms during the nine days of Navratri.

Navaratri : Nava meaning nine and ratri meaning nights. As per Hindu tradition Navaratri is dedicated towards the worship of the Hindu Goddess Durga, a form of the supreme power Shakti. The Goddess is one, she is depicted as the Supreme Being, Devi, but she assumes different forms. On these nine nights, Goddess Durga is worshipped in different avatars, and the 10th day is celebrated as Vijayadashami/Dussehra.

The nine forms of Goddess Durga are:

  • Bhadrakali
  • Jagadamba
  • Annapoorna Devi
  • Sarvamangala
  • Bhairavi
  • Chandika
  • Lalita
  • Bhavani
  • Mookambika

Goddess Durga symbolises the positive energy that is involved in creation, preservation and destruction.

The Importance of the Ritual

Navratri celebrations
The Importance of the Ritual

During this festival one purifies the soul and the body by fasting. In this perspective, Mahisha is the lazy buffalo that resides within us in the form of ignorance. During the festival of Navaratri we strive to rid ourselves of this ignorance and once we gain victory it is celebrated in the dance of joy in the form of Dandia and Garba.

The Ritual
During Navaratri the puranas like the ‘Navratri vrat katha’ stress on the importance of ‘nirjal’ (sans water) and ‘nirahar’ (sans food) ‘vrat’. This is the process by which one elevates the body and soul.

  • The first three days are dedicated towards invoking Goddess Durga as a powerful force which will help the devotee in destroying all the impurities, vices and defects.
  • The next three days, the Goddess is worshipped as the giver of spiritual wealth, Lakshmi.
  • The last three days is devoted to Goddess Saraswathi for the blessings of wisdom.


Navratri rituals

The ritual of fasting begins on the first day of Navratri and continues till the seventh or eighth day. During this phase, the devotees fast without water or food and break it after the evening puja. The final breaking of the fast is carried out on the ninth day which is known as Navami. During these nine days the devotees abstain from meat, alcohol, onions, garlic and even dishes made with common salt or spice. The more devout individuals sustain themselves only on milk products, fruits and fruit juices through all nine nights. While some fast for all nine days, some devotees opt to fast on specific days of these nine nights.

Navaratri is not just about abstaining from food. During these nights the devotees also try and control ones temperament, actions and behaviour.

check out some best Happy Navratri messages and wishes for your loved ones.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>