Facts about Republic Day that every Indian must know

Indian Flag
Indian Republic day facts

26th January brings out the patriot in us but not everybody knows how much significance the day holds for us. So, here are some facts about Republic Day that every Indian must be aware of.

1. Purna Swaraj Day or India’s Independence Day was first celebrated on January 26, 1930.

2. The first Republic Day was celebrated on January 26, 1950, three years after we got independence.

3. The first Republic-Day parade at Rajpath was held in 1955.

4. The first President of India, Dr. Rajendra Prasad took oath (at Durbar Hall of government house) first time on 26th of January in 1950.

5. Republic Day Celebrations are a 3-day long affair which ends with the Beating Retreat ceremony on 29th January held at Vijay Chowk with the bands of Indian Army, Indian Air Force and Indian Navy performing. ·

6. During The Beating Retreat, ‘Abide by Me’ is the song that is played to mark the end of the ceremony. Which was said to be Mahatma Gandhi’s favourite.

7. A 21 gun salute is fired as the President of India unfurls the tricolour, as a naval and military mark of honour.

8. A majority of national awards such as Bharat Ratna, Padma Bhushan and Kirti Chakra are awarded during the Republic Day ceremony.

9. The Constitution of India is the longest written Constitution all over the world .It has a total of 448 articles. written in english and hindi. Dr B.R. Ambedkar took 2 years and 11 months to draft the Indian Constitution.

10. Indian Constitution came into effect especially on 26th of January because 26th of January, 1930 is an anniversary of Purna Swaraj Day.

11. Jana Gana Mana (National Anthem) was first translated into Hindi language by the Abid Ali in 1911 which was later officially adopted as National Anthem of India in 1950 on 24th of January.

12. The chief guest on republic day celebration, 1961 was Queen Elizabeth from Britain.

13. The Indian flag, by law, is made of khadi and can be only made in nine specified sizes.

14. On 26th of January in 1965 Hindi language was declared as the national language of India.

1,159 total views, 1 views today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>