Tamil Panchangam


According to the Tamil calendar, the New Year is observed either on 13th or 14th of April of the Gregorian calendar. The calendar has twelve months in total with each month having 29 to 31 days and is divided in six seasons.

The year begins on the month of Cittirai, which also declares the beginning of the summer season and thus the harvest cycle in the region. The months of the calendar are:


 

2017 Tamil Festivals

Events Dates
Pongal Saturday, January 14
Mattu Pongal Sunday, January 15
Thai Amavasai Friday, January 27
Ratha Sapthami Friday, February 3
Thai Pusam Friday, February 10
Shivaratri Friday, February 24
Masi Magam Saturday, March 1
Karadaiyan Nombu Tuesday, March 14
Telugu New Year Tuesday, March 28
Rama Navami Wednesday, April 05
Panguni Uthiram Sunday, April 09
Puthandu, Vishu Friday, April 14
Akshaya Thiruthiyai Friday, April 28
Ramanuja Jayanthi Monday, May 1
Agni Nakshatram Begins Thursday, May 4
Chitra Pournami Wednesday, May 10
Agni Nakshatram Ends Sunday, May 28
Vaikasi Visakam Sunday, May 3
Vaikasi Visakam Wednesday, June 7
Aadi Amavasai Sunday, July 23
Andal Jayanthi Wednesday, July 26
Garuda Panjami Thursday, July 27
Aadi Perukku Wednesday, August 02
Varalakshmi Friday, August 04
Sri Krishna Janmashtami Monday, August 14
Onam Monday, September 4
Maha Bharani Sunday, September 10
Ashtami Rohini Wednesday, September 13
Magha Shraddha Monday, September 18
Mahalaya Amavasai Tuesday, September 19
Navarathiri Thursday, September 21
Ayutha Poojai Friday, September 29
Vijaya Dashami Saturday, September 30
Deepavali Wednesday, October 18
Karthigai Deepam Saturday, December 02
Hanumath Jayanthi Monday, November 18
Christmas Monday, December 25

 

Hindu Holidays in 2017

DAY DATE HOLIDAY NAME
Sat Jan 14, 2017 Makarsankranti / Pongal
Wed Feb 01, 2017 Vasant Panchami
Fri Feb 24, 2017 Maha Shivaratri
Mon Mar 13, 2017 Holi
Tue Mar 28, 2017 Ugadi/ Gudi Padwa
Tue Mar 28, 2017 Hindi New Year
Wed Apr 05, 2017 Ramanavami
Tue Apr 11, 2017 Hanuman Jayanti
Fri Apr 14, 2017 Tamil New Year / Baisakhi / Vishu
Fri Apr 14, 2017 Tamil New Year
Sat Apr 15, 2017 Bengali New Year
Fri Apr 28, 2017 Akshaya Tritiya
Thu May 25, 2017 Savitri Pooja
Sun Jun 25, 2017 Puri Rath Yatra
Sun Jun 25, 2017 Guru Purnima
Thu Jul 27, 2017 Nag Panchami
Mon Sep 04, 2017 Onam
Mon Aug 07, 2017 Raksha-Bandhan
Mon Aug 14, 2017 Krishna Janmashtami
Fri Aug 25, 2017 Ganesh Chaturthi
Thu Sep 19, 2017 Mahalaya Amavasya
Thu Sep 21, 2017 Navaratri begins
Fri Sep 29, 2017 Navaratri ends
Sat Sep 30, 2017 Dussehra
Sun Oct 08, 2017 Karwa Chauth
Tue Oct 17, 2017 Dhanteras
Thu Oct 19, 2017 Diwali
Sat Oct 21, 2017 Bhai Dooj
Thu Oct 26, 2017 Chhath Puja
Sat Nov 04, 2017 Kartik Poornima
Thu Nov 30, 2017 Geeta Jayanti
Sat Dec 16, 2017 Dhanu Sankranti
The months of the Tamil calendar:
No. Months in Tamil Month (Start-End)
01. Cittirai Mid-April to mid-May
02. Vaikaci Mid-May to mid-June
03. Ani Mid-June to mid-July
04. Ati Mid-July to mid-August
05. Avaoi Mid-August to mid-September
06. Purattaci Mid-September to mid-October
07. Aippaci Mid-October to mid-November
08. Karttikai Mid-November to mid-December
09. Markazhi Mid-December to mid-January
10. Tai Mid-January to mid-February
11. Maci mid-February to mid-March
12. Paokuni mid-March to mid-April

The days of the week also have Tamilian names which are the following:

The Days of the Tamil Calendar:
No. Tamilian Days Names Days
01. Gnaayitru-kizhamai Sunday
02. Thingat-kizhamai Monday
03. Sevvaai-kizhamai Tuesday
04. Buthan-kizhamai Wednesday
05. Viyaazha-kizhamai Thursday
06. Velli-kizhamai Friday
07. Sani-kizhamai Saturday

Tamil Panchangam

The Panchangam is the Indian calendar based on Vedic astrology. It is used by the Tamils to determine the right days for marriage, religious events and for starting new ventures. It makes the forecasts for the year and hence, listening to Panchangam on the day of Tamil New Year is considered to be an important event. Birth Panchangam is important in calculating the horoscope of people and for determining their future.

The days of the week in Tamil calendar:
No. Weekday (English) Vaasara (Sanskrit) Lord or Planet Gregorian Calendar equivalent
01. Jnyaayitru-kizhamai Ravi-vaasara Sun Sunday
02. Thingat-kizhamai Soma-vaasara Moon Monday
03. Sevvaai-kizhamai Mangala-vaasara Mars Tuesday
04. Buthan-kizhamai Budha-vaasara Mercury Wednesday
05. Viyaazha-kizhamai Guru Vaasara Jupiter Thursday
06. Velli-kizhamai Sukra-vaasara Venus Friday
07. Sani-kizhamai Shani-vaasara Saturn Saturday

For Tamilians, everyday starts off with the sun set.