Navratri 2017


The Indian festival of Navratri has been derived from two words—"Nav" + "Ratri", which means "nine nights" in English. This festival is prevalent throughout India, but it is more prominent in the state of Gujarat and Bengal. Hindus celebrate this festival to express their devotion to the goddess of power, Durga. The worship of the goddess Durga continues for nine days. Each day, a different form of the goddess is worshiped. Following the nine days of rituals and worship, the 10th day is celebrated as Dussehra, which is also known as Vijay- Dashmi. It is celebrated to mark the victory of mythical King Lord Rama over the King of Sri Lanka, Ravana.

Navratri Date

Navratri Begins



Sep 2017,


Sharad Navratri 2017 Dates

Sharad Navratri: September 21st to 29th, 2017



Types of Navratri:


4 Different Navratris
Navratri Timing
Vasanta Navaratri March–April
Ashad Navaratri June–July
Sharad Navaratri September–October
Pausha/Magha Navaratri December–January


  • The two famous rituals are called as "Paath" and "Durga Aarti." An Aarti is an ancient practice of singing hymns as part of the worship of the goddess.
  • The ninth day is also marked as Raam Navmi, a famous Festival, when stage shows and plays are organized throughout India to depict the story of Lord Rama. On ninth day, the worshipers bid farewell to the goddess Durga. It is followed by the ritual of "kanya-pujan," when the little girls are worshiped, and offered food and sweets.
  • The Festival is celebrated differently according to the region. For example in North India, the festival continues for nine long days, when fasting and worshiping continues almost every day. However, in the state of West Bengal, only the last four days are celebrated as Durga- Pooja.
  • In the western state of Gujarat, it is celebrated with much fun and fervor, where the most popular local dances Garba and Dandiya- Raas are performed by both men and women.
  • Men and women get dressed in colorful clothes and perform the dance together in open areas all night long. In the other states such as Kerala, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh and Rajasthan, the rituals vary greatly.

Puja Samagri for the Navratri Puja

  • Picture or Idol of Goddess Durga in the Pooja room
  • Chunri
  • Durga Saptshati book
  • Moli, red sacred thread
  • Ganga water or plain water in Kalash (pitcher)
  • Fresh mango leaves
  • Rice
  • Sandalwood
  • One coconut
  • Roli, red sacred powder for tilak
  • Fresh grass
  • Gulal
  • Supari
  • Paan
  • Cloves
  • Cardamom
  • Kumkum

Navratri Puja Procedure

  • Every devotee is supposed to get up early in the morning. After taking bath, he is supposed to wear clean clothes.
  • Then he is supposed to bring along the items necessary to perform the worship of the goddess.
  • He then has to perform "pooja" according to the traditional methods. Once your thaali is arranged for pooja, you can apply kum-kum with some rice on the idol of the goddess. Then you can chant the mantras meant for the pooja followed by "Aarti" (hymns).

Last Updated: 17th August, 2017